Our Advisory Board

Learn about the advisory board members who support our Social Work Mission and our School.

Interested in Becoming a Student Representative?

Contact Dr. Natalie Ames at natalie_ames@ncsu.edu.

Advisory Board Members

Natalie Ames, MSW, Ed.D.

Associate Professor and Faculty Liaison at the NC State School of Social Work.

Valerie Arendt, MSW

MPPExecutive Director, National Association of Social Workers North Carolina Chapter (NASW-NC). Board member since 2018.

Mary Bethel, M.Ed.

Executive Director of the NC Coalition on Aging (Retired). Board member since 2015.

Chris Budnick, LCSW, LCAS

Executive Director of Healing Transitions.    Board member since 2003.

Karen Franklin, LCSW, CEAP

Manager of Employee Assistance Services at Cracker Barrel.  Board member since 2018.

Kenisha Hinton, MSW

I/T Project Manager, Innovation Partner – Wake County Government. Chairperson, board member since 2017.

Suzanne Martin, MSW

Assistant to the President and CEO, Carol Woods Retirement Community. Board member since 2012.

Christina McCoy, MSW, JD

Trial Attorney and Adjunct Professor. Vice-Chairperson, board member since 2018.

Rick Miller-Haraway, MSW

Retired. Rejoined Board in 2020.

Shelia Reich, MSW

Executive Director of Youth Thrive.              Board member since 2018.

Kim Stansbury, MSW, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and MSW Program Director at the NC State School of Social Work.

Paige Averett, MSW, Ph.D.

Associate Head and BSW Program Director at the NC State School of Social Work.